Since 2016

Overdue Applause

by Kelly Rae Smith & compliments of the Charleston City Paper

Before Hootie and the Blowfish, Jump Little Children, and Shovels & Rope created a buzz on the local music scene and made things happen far beyond it, the path was paved by a long list of Charleston musical forefathers. The history of the scene is truly diverse and rich, and Ye Olde Music Shop’s Michael Davis traces the influence of today’s young musicians all the way back to the 1940s. That’s why he’s launching the first Lowcountry Music Hall of Fame, which will take place at the Hanahan Amphitheater, a hidden gem of a venue Davis is also responsible for starting up.

The aim of Ye Olde Music Shop’s Lowcountry Music Hall of Fame is to properly recognize the individuals who have profoundly impacted Charleston’s music scene – that’s been Davis’ goal ever since the amphitheater was built. “We’re trying to look at the history of the Charleston music scene, not the here and now of it,” Davis says. “We’re looking at the people who built this to be what it is.”

The first round of inductees are listed and described by Davis. “There’s still a lot more out there, believe me,” Davis says. “The second batch of inductees we’re going to do in March are just as important as these first few people are. What we’re trying to go after and what is important to me is the people who deserve a pat on the back who, in my opinion, don’t have a big enough pat on the back.”

Help us select the best of the Low Country by submitting your choice persons or business that you feel has contributed greatly to the Low Country Music Scene. Please review the Inductee section for information on the latest inductees. Future inductee results will be posted after a committee reviews the results & recommendations.

The 2022 induction ceremony will be on Sunday, October 16th, 1:00 pm at the Hanahan Amphitheater. There is no charge for admission. Food trucks will be on site and you are welcome to bring a personal cooler.

This Year’s Inductees are:

Eddie White
Eddie Toporek
Bill Nance
Drew May
Brad Henty
Paul Gelpi
Ronnie Williams
Sid Ferguson
Frank Carlier
Jan Jackson
Chip Chipman
Charles Carmody
Richard Todd
Joe Fike

For more information, please contact Michael Davis at the Ye Olde Music Shop, 843-747-0014.